School of la Briquette

Education

Located at one of the entrances to the city, the school group announces the renewal of Marly. The reunion of the Nelson Mandela and Louise Michel schools is a strong political act that must be embodied by a unifying and emblematic school facility. The neighboring plot of land, currently uncultivated, will become a park for the inhabitants and will constitute a green lung associated with the space of the playgrounds. This vegetal landscape constitutes the base of the project. A school turned towards nature, in the heart of the trees. During the studies, it became apparent that the cost of rehabilitating the Dupont house was excessive in relation to its potential and it will therefore disappear. It has marked the territory and the memory of the place and its demolition will have to be accompanied by a symbolic moment for the inhabitants of Marly. The implantation of the building offers several levels of reading.
Two branches rise up and meet in one towards the heart of the park. One comes from the east,
the other from the west, like the students of the future school. This junction divides the southern part of the park into two playgrounds corresponding to the two schools.

They are oriented east and west and open onto the park and its large trees to the north of the parcel and are protected from the prevailing winds carrying the noise pollution of the highway and the dense city.
Through the morphology of the building, as well as through the path that crosses the park, the project creates physical links in the city, which translate the will of union, of gathering, of happy mix. This union is also that of the urban and natural landscapes. The challenge of the school group is to address both the city and the exterior, and to create a protective interiority for the children. The project develops a play of curves and counter-curves to make the link between the different elements of the program and the associated exterior spaces. The project is developed on two levels, a brick base and a wooden attic. The first level in brick draws and affirms the alignment with the future planted mall. Its angles are softened by solid curves. A curved inflection widens the entrance square protected by large planted flowerbeds. The entrances to the two schools are marked by recessed inflections in the facade.

LOCATION :  Marly, France
PROGRAM : Construction of a school and development of a park
SURFACE : 3 164  m²
COST : 7 412 274 € Excl. Tax.
TIMETABLE : Completion scheduled June 2024
CLIENT : City of Marly
ARCHITECTS : archi5 associated to Bureau Face B
ENGINEER,ECONOMIST,ACOUSTIC ENGINEER : Ingérop
LANDSCAPER : archi5
KITCHEN ENGINEER : Alma Consulting
LANDSCAPER : Octav Tirziu

La Briquette school

Teaching

Situé à l’une des entrées de la ville, le groupe scolaire annonce le renouveau de Marly. La réunion des écoles Nelson Mandela et Louise Michel est un acte politique fort qui doit être incarné par un équipement scolaire fédérateur et emblématique. La parcelle voisine, aujourd’hui en friche deviendra un parc pour les habitants et constituera un poumon vert associé à l’espace des cours de récréation. Ce paysage végétal constitue le socle du projet. Une école tournée vers la nature, au cœur des arbres. Au cours des études il est apparu que les coûts pour la  réhabilitation de la maison Dupont sont excessifs par rapport à son potentiel et va donc disparaître. Elle a marqué le territoire et la mémoire du lieu et sa démolition devra être accompagnée d’un moment symbolique auprès des habitants de Marly. L’implantation du bâtiment offre plusieurs niveaux de lecture.
Deux branches s’élancent et se réunissent en une seule vers le cœur du parc. L’une vient de l’est, l’autre de l’ouest, comme les élèves de la future école. Cette jonction vient partitionner la partie sud du parc en deux cours de récréations correspondant aux deux écoles.

Elles sont orientées est et ouest et s’ouvrent sur le parc et ses grands arbres au nord de la parcelle et sont protégées des vents dominants charriant les nuisances sonores de l’autoroute et de la ville dense.
Par la morphologie du bâtiment, comme par le chemin qui traverse le parc, le projet ménage des liens physiques dans la ville, qui traduisent la volonté d’union, de rassemblement, de mixité heureuse. Cette union, c’est aussi celle des paysages urbains et naturels. L’enjeu du groupe scolaire est de s’adresser à la fois à la ville, à l’extérieur, et de créer une intériorité protectrice pour les enfants. Le projet développe un jeu de courbe et de contre-courbe pour faire le lien entre les différents éléments de programme et les espaces extérieurs associés. Le projet se développe sur deux niveaux, un socle en brique et un attique en bois. Le premier niveau en brique dessine et affirme l’alignement avec le futur mail planté. Ses angles sont adoucis par des courbes pleines. Une inflexion en courbe élargit le parvis d’entrée protégé par des larges parterres plantés. Les entrées des deux écoles se signalent par des inflexions en creux dans la façade.

LIEU : Marly , France
PROGRAMME : Construction d’un groupe scolaire et aménagement  d’un parc
SURFACE : 3 164 m² sdp
COÛT DE L’OUVRAGE : 7 412 274 € HT
CALENDRIER : Livraison prévue autour de juin 2024
MAÎTRE D’OUVRAGE : Ville de Marly
ARCHITECTES : archi5 associés à Bureau Face B
BUREAU D’ÉTUDES,FLUIDES, THERMIQUE,ÉCONOMISTE,ACOUSTIQUE : Ingérop
PAYSAGISTE : archi5
INGÉNIERIE EN RESTAURATION : Alma Consulting
PERSPECTIVISTE : Octav TIRZIU