University Paris Nord 13 Sorbonne

Education

The project takes place in the building of the former printing house of the newspaper l’Illustration, an iconic witness of the industrial architecture and modernity of the 30’s through its characteristic tower, its linear volumetry punctuated by the two interior courtyards and its red brick facades. The University Sorbonne Paris Nord already occupies the Illustration after several phases of partial rehabilitation carried out over two decades.

This last phase gives back to the south facade its monumental and urban character through a total rehabilitation which opens the building towards the semi-circular square of the rue Balzac and the city. The project is consistent with the previous phases while respecting the architectural vocabulary of the original building: enhancement of the concrete structure, rehabilitation of the brick facades, metal mezzanine and wood decking.

The south hall, with its double height and generous volume, distributes all the spaces and becomes a place for mixing and meeting. It will also open onto the two rehabilitated interior courtyards, the Agora courtyard and the Tilleuls courtyard, which will become the new plant heart of the project. The landscaping will allow nature, comfort and biodiversity to take their full place in the project. The new multi-purpose hall will be located under the existing sheds and will extend its full-height glass façade towards the courtyard.

By respecting its architectural heritage and taking into account contemporary environmental issues (increasing plant life and biodiversity, energy savings and low-carbon strategy), the Illustration continues its history to be 21st century campus.

LOCATION :  Bobigny, France
PROGRAM : Partial rehabilitation of the Illustration building in Bobigny
SURFACE : 3 940 m²
COST : 12 724 786 € Excl. Tax.
TIMETABLE : Completion scheduled October 2023
CLIENT : EPAURIF fir University Sorbonne Paris Nord
ARCHITECT : archi5
MAIN CONTRACTOR : Sylvamétal
ENGINEER : Mizrahi
ACOUSTIC ENGINEER : Akoustik
LANDSCAPER : archi5
ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEER : S’pace environnement
ASBETOS REMOVAL ENGINEER : LMPR
LANDSCAPER : Pavel Mantula

L'Illustration

Enseignement

Le projet prend place dans le bâtiment de l’ancienne imprimerie du journal l’illustration, témoin iconique de l’architecture industrielle et de la modernité des années 30 à travers sa tour caractéristique, sa volumétrie linéaire ponctuée par les deux cours intérieures et ses façades de brique rouges. L’Université Sorbonne Paris Nord occupe déjà l’Illustration après plusieurs phases de réhabilitation partielle réalisées durant deux décennies.

Cette dernière phase redonne à la façade sud son caractère monumental et urbain à travers sa réhabilitation totale qui ouvre ainsi le bâtiment vers la place demi circulaire de la rue Balzac et la ville. Le projet est en cohérence avec les phases précédentes tout en respectant le vocabulaire architectural du bâtiment originel : mise en valeur de la structure béton, réhabilitation des façades en brique, mezzanine métalliques et platelages bois.

Le hall sud, en double hauteur et à la volumétrie généreuse distribue tous les espaces et devient un lieu de brassage et de rencontres. Il s’ouvrira également sur les deux cours intérieures réhabilitées, cour Agora et cour Tilleuls qui deviendront le nouveau cœur végétal du projet. Le traitement paysager permet à la nature, au confort et à la biodiversité de prendre toute leur place au sein de l’Université. La nouvelle salle polyvalente se déploie sous les sheds existants et ouvre sa façade vitrée toute hauteur vers la cour.

À travers le respect de son héritage architectural et la prise en compte des questions environnementales contemporaines (renforcement du végétal et de la biodiversité, économies d’énergies et stratégie bas carbone), l’Illustration poursuit son histoire pour être un campus du XXIe siècle.

LIEU : Bobigny, France
PROGRAMME : Réhabilitation partielle du bâtiment de l’Illustration à Bobigny (Aile Sud)
SURFACE : 3 940 m² sdp
COÛT DE L’OUVRAGE : 12 724 786 € HT
CALENDRIER : Livraison prévue octobre 2023
MAÎTRE D’OUVRAGE : EPAURIF pour l’Université Sorbonne Paris Nord
ARCHITECTES : archi5
ENTREPRISE GÉNÉRALE MANDATAIRE : Sylvamétal
BET TCE : Mizrahi
BET ACOUSTIQUE : Akoustik
PAYSAGISTE : archi5
BET HQE : S’pace environnement
BET DÉSAMIANTAGE : LMPR
PERSPECTIVISTE : Pavel Mantula