Jean Jacques Rousseau school

Education

The new school group is a village school that stands out because of the contribution made by the exterior fittings, the trees that have been preserved, the densification of the planting and the removal of the waterproofing from the ground. With its scale, several buildings and an open public path that crosses it, it brings to the neighbourhood a new, friendly and unifying entity. Whether renovated or new, the buildings are designed with the same care and a common architectural vocabulary.  The new school group is a coherent and unitary whole. The treatment of the new urban facades is both homogeneous and animated. Variations are made along the new urban promenade. The new school group is a key element for the new synergy of this district and the renewal of the school group. The architectural approach allows for the in-depth transformation of the school through a phased renovation on an occupied site, while guaranteeing its proper functioning during the construction period.

The project is part of an ambitious environmental and energy approach by integrating a transversal reflection on the themes of choice of materials, energy management, visual and hygrothermal comfort. This is achieved above all through an efficient design of the envelope in terms of both its volume and its performance. The external insulation of the existing buildings and the new wood-frame wall facades offer exemplary insulation qualities. The new buildings are built with a prefabricated wooden structure and façade. This choice combines the quality of a biosourced building with high thermal quality and a massive reduction in site nuisance due to the use of prefabrication.

An inner cocoon is created both to protect the children and to make them aware of nature with the educational gardens in the playgrounds. The “oasis” type courtyards, directly accessible from the classrooms, are composed of lush vegetation, refreshed spaces, more playful facilities adapted to the needs of children, quiet corners and a better distribution of space. The courtyards avoid the pre-existing urban heat island effect, and provide a response for better management of rainwater and water points by absorption and restitution according to the natural cycle.

The youngest inhabitants will have their first learning experiences in this school group, which carries the project of a place of acquisition of knowledge as well as of life in society. The kindergarten offers a secure enclosed cocoon, the renovated elementary schools and the new leisure centre form a unit that brings warmth and a natural character close to the abundant vegetation of the playgrounds. The exterior façade is simple and urban, while the interior spaces with their planted courtyards create a playful and protective environment. In this school group, the vegetation is omnipresent in the playgrounds, and the line patterns are as many possible games for the children.

LOCATION : Épinay-Sur-Seine, France
PROGRAM : Restructuration and extension of the Jean Jacques Rousseau school, construction of a leisure center.
SURFACE : 7 599 m²
COST : 15 256 830 € Exlc. Tax.
TIMETABLE : Completion scheduled in 2026 after phased works in occupied site.
CLIENT : Plaine commune développement for the city of Épinay-Sur-Seine
ARCHITECTS : archi5
LANDSCAPER : archi5
ENGINEER, FLUIDS, THERMAL, ECONOMIST : Facéa
ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEER : AI Environnement
KITCHEN ENGINEER : Alma consulting
ACOUSTIC ENGINEER : Cap Horn Solutions
RENDERINGS : Fred Peronne & Carlos Roig Gimenez

Groupe scolaire Jean Jacques Rousseau

Éducation

Le nouveau groupe scolaire est une école village qui se distingue par l’apport des aménagements extérieurs, arbres conservés, densification des plantations, désimperméabilisation des sols. Avec son échelle, plusieurs bâtiments et une sente publique ouverte qui le traverse, il apporte au quartier une entité nouvelle, aimable et fédératrice. Qu’ils soient réhabilités ou neuf, les bâtiments sont conçus avec la même attention et un vocabulaire architectural commun.  Le nouveau groupe scolaire est un ensemble cohérent et unitaire. Le traitement des nouvelles façades urbaines est à la fois homogène et animé. Des variations sont apportées le long de la nouvelle promenade urbaine. Le nouveau groupe scolaire est un élément clé pour la nouvelle synergie de ce quartier et le renouveau du groupe scolaire. Le parti architectural permet la transformation en profondeur de l’école à travers une rénovation par phases en site occupé tout en garantissant son bon fonctionnement durant le chantier.

Le projet s’inscrit dans une démarche environnementale et énergétique ambitieuse en intégrant une réflexion transversale sur les thématiques de choix des matériaux, de gestion de l’énergie, de confort visuel et hygrothermique. Cela passe avant tout par une conception efficiente de l’enveloppe tant dans sa volumétrie que dans sa performance. L’isolation par l’extérieur de l’existant et les nouvelles façades en mur à ossature bois offrent des qualités d’isolation exemplaires. Les bâtiments neufs sont réalisés en structure et façade bois préfabriqués. Ce choix combine la qualité d’un bâti biosourcé à forte qualité thermique ainsi qu’une réduction massive des nuisances de chantier liée au recours à la préfabrication.

Un cocon intérieur est créé à la fois pour protéger les enfants, et les sensibiliser à la nature avec les jardins pédagogiques des cours de récréation. Les cours de type « oasis », directement accessibles depuis les salles de classes, sont composées d’une végétation luxuriante, d’espaces rafraîchis, d’aménagements plus ludiques et adaptés aux besoins des enfants, des coins calmes et une meilleure répartition de l’espace. Les cours évitent l’effet d’ilot de chaleur urbain préexistant, elles apportent une réponse pour une meilleure gestion de l’eau de pluie et des points d’eau par absorption et restitution selon le cycle naturel.

Les habitants les plus jeunes feront leurs premières expériences d’apprentissage dans ce groupe scolaire qui porte le projet d’un lieu d’acquisition de savoir comme de vie en société. L’école maternelle offre un cocon sécurisant clos, les écoles élémentaires réhabilitées et le nouveau centre de loisir forment une unité qui apporte de la chaleur et un caractère naturel proche de la végétation abondante des cours de récréation. La façade extérieure est simple et urbaine, les espaces intérieurs aux cours végétales dessinent un lieu ludique et protecteur. Dans ce groupe scolaire, le végétal est omniprésent dans les cours de récréation, et les dessins de lignes sont autant de jeux possibles pour les enfants.

LIEU : Épinay-Sur-Seine, France
PROGRAMME : Restructuration et extension du groupe scolaire Jean Jacques Rousseau, construction d’un centre de loisirs.
SURFACE : 7 599 m² SDP
COÛT DE L’OUVRAGE : 15 256 830 €
CALENDRIER : Livraison prévue 2026 après travaux par phases en site occupé.
MAÎTRE D’OUVRAGE : Plaine commune développement pour la ville d’Épinay-Sur-Seine
ARCHITECTES : archi5
PAYSAGISTES : archi5
BUREAU D’ÉTUDES, THERMIQUE,  FLUIDES, ÉCONOMISTE : Facéa
BET HQE : AI Environnement
INGÉNIERIE EN RESTAURATION : Alma consulting
BET ACOUSTIQUE : Cap Horn Solutions
PERSPECTIVISTE : Fred Peronne & Carlos Roig Gimenez